Blogging Bites: On Identity, Narrative, Academia, and More

Discover

Catching up in the Reader? Here’s a selection of notable conversations and interviews featuring some of our favorite writers on WordPress.com.


On identity and empathy

Photo by Don Hankins (CC BY 2.0)Photo by Don Hankins (CC BY 2.0)

We chatted with Liz Lin, a critic of politics and contemporary culture at The Salt Collective, about identity and growing up as Asian American, as well as race and ethnicity in America:

Looking back, I was generally happy growing up in the Midwest, but it was a difficult place to work out my Asian American identity. For me, it was hard to be a visible minority without a vocabulary to understand my experiences or people to process them with. But in retrospect, I’m grateful that I went through this — both because it made me think seriously about race and ethnicity from an early age and because being different taught me empathy. I constantly…

View original post 738 more words

Leave a Reply

